Lab 2 - Internal Organization of the Brain

Review of Other Structures

Follow the images as we move back from the anterior commisure.

Figure 1, Layer A
The anterior commissure is crossing the midline and appears as a dark band of transverse fibers passing below the globus pallidus. The fornix column can also be seen superior to the anterior commissure. Also find the corpus callosum.

Figure 1, Layer B
We are continuing in a caudal direction. On the bottom of the image, note the location of the amygdala. Also identify the fornix and the corpus callosum.

Figure 1, Layer C
We are still moving caudally and the hippocampus has replaced the amygdala in the temporal lobe. Note the fornix below the corpus callosum.