2015 Dee S. and Patricia Osborne Endowed Scholarships in the Neurosciences

Tara Fischer, Keri Callegari, Ndidi Uzor, Sahily Reyes, George Edwards and Natalie Sirisaengtaksin

2014-2015 Scholarships and Awards

Charles Beaman was awarded the NRC Brain Awareness Outreach Award.

Rajan Dasgupta was the recipient of the 2015 Zilkha Family Discovery Fellowship in Neuroengineering

Curtis Neveu place first at the NRC Poster Session and was awarded the 2014 Dee S. and Patricia Osborne Endowed Scholarships in the Neurosciences.

Monica Gireud was awarded the 2014-2015 Andrew Sowell-Wade Huggins Scholarship in Cancer Research.

Ariana Andrei and Heather Turner were awarded the 2014-2015 Sam Taub and Beatrice Burton Endowed Fellowship in Vision Disease

Leandra Mangieri and Albert Hunt were the recipients of the 2014-2015 Roberta M. and Jean M. Worsham Endowed Scholarship.

Madeline Farley, Joe Alcorn and Max Odem were the recipients of the 2014 Dee S. and Patricia Osborne Endowed Scholarships in the Neurosciences at the Neuroscience Program Retreat Poster Session.

GSEC Poster Session Winners!!!
2nd Place Max Odem and Leandra Mangieri
3rd Place Ariana Andrei  and Monica Gireud

Heather Turner received the 2014 SfN Travel Award.

Sahily Reyes was awarded the Clinical and Translational Science (CCTS) TL1 training grant.

Natalie Sirisaengtaksin and Stuart Red were the recipients of the 2014 Medical School Deans’ Research Awards.

Monica Gireud was selected to attend the SPINES program at Woods Hole, MA for the Summer of 2014.

Cihan Kadipasaoglu was awarded the 2013-2014 CCTS TL1 Pre-Doctoral Training Fellowship, Organization for Human Brain Mapping Trainee Abstract Travel Award and the 2013 AAAS/Science Program for Excellence in Science.

Stuart Red and Tara Fischer won the Mission Connect Annual Scientific Symposium best TBI poster presentation!

Cihan Kadipasaoglu received the 2013-2014 Sam Taub and Beatrice Burton Endowed Fellowship in Vision Disease

2014 SfN Brain Awareness Video Contest

Charles Beaman from UTHealth-Houston, Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy won the Peoples Choice Award in the Brain Awareness Video contest for "A Journey Through The Visual System."

2012 SfN Brain Awareness Video Contest

Ariana Andrei, Stacy Eriksson and Marcello Mulas from UTHealth-Houston, Department of Neurobiology and Anatomy won First Place in the Brain Awareness Video contest for "The Carrot."

2011 SfN Brain Awareness Video Contest
Julia Hill and Natalia Rozas De O'Laughlin has won the People's Choice Award after placing third in the Inaugural Society for Neuroscience Brain Awareness Video Contest for "Synaptic Plasticity".





Prospective Students

Doctoral Program: Neuroscience Program Tracks

Cellular & Molecular Neuroscience

Systems & Cognitive Neuroscience

Theoretical & Computational Neuroscience

Visual Neuroscience

Qualifying Exam Document

UTHSCH User Acct Required

Meeting Scheduler

NGP Brochure & Newsletter

Neuroscience Program Brochure

Summer 2014

Summer 2013

Summer 2012

Summer 2011

Neuroscience at the family dinner table (continued from summer 2012 issue)

By Natalia Rozas de O'Laughlin

Upcoming Events

Program Picnic
June 5, 2015
5:00 pm UT Rec Center Volleyball Court

Neuroscience Program Lab Updates
Dougherty Lab
June 10, 2015
4pm MSB B.645

Program Retreat
Oct 9-10, 2015
San Luis Conference Center

Current Events

Seminars and Workshops

NBA Department Seminar Series

NRC Neurofax



Journal Clubs

Neuroscience Student  Journal Club

Every other Friday 2:00pm MSB 7.037

Contact Heather.N.Turner@uth.tmc.edu for more information.

Vision Journal Club

Wednesdays 12:00 in MSB 7.238


Find us
on Facebook!
Neuroscience Prgm

Travel Awards

GSEC Travel Award Applications are accepted the 15th of every month. Please visit the Graduate Student Education Committee for more information.

The GSBS offers travel awards starting at $250. Please visit GSBS Awards and Funding Opportunities for more information

NGP Travel Award.

Advisory Committee Reports

Reminder: All students are required to prepare a pre-committee report. This report needs to be sent to Amanda Williamson and your committee members at least one week before your meeting.
Pre-Committee Report
Sample Presentation

Evaluation Advisory Committee Meeting Form                               


Attention Undergraduates!!!

UTHealth Summer Research Program
Program Coordinator: Vaccaro Greaves
Email: Vaccaro.P.Greaves@uth.tmc.edu
Telephone: (713) 500-5105
Application deadline is February 1.


Ph.D. Public Seminar

Joseph Alcorn successfully defended his thesis December 4th.

Deepna Devkar  successfully defended her thesis October 20th.

Stuart Red  successfully defended his thesis October 1st.

Recent Student Publications

Yang Q, Wu Z, Hadden JK, Odem MA, Zuo Y, Crook RJ, Frost JA, Walters ET (2014) Persistent pain after spinal cord injury is maintained by primary afferent activity. J Neurosci 34:10765–10769.

Gireud M, Sirisaengtaksin N, Tsunoda S, Bean AJ. Cell-Free Reconstitution of Multivesicular Body (MVB) Cargo Sorting.
Methods Mol Biol. 2015 1270:115-24. doi: 10.1007/978-1-4939-2309-0_9.

Wu Z, Kim ER, Sun H, Xu Y, Mangieri LR, Li DP, Pan HL, Xu Y, Arenkiel BR, Tong Q. GABAergic projections from lateral hypothalamus to paraventricular hypothalamic nucleus promote feeding.
J Neurosci. 2015;35(8):3312-8. doi: 10.1523/JNEUROSCI.3720-14.2015.

Justice NJ, L Huang L,  Tian J-B, Cole A, Pruski M, Hunt, AJ Jr., Flores R, Zhu MX, Arenkiel BR, and Zheng H (2015). Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder-Like Induction Elevates Aβ Levels, Which Directly Activates Corticotropin-Releasing Factor Neurons to Exacerbate Stress Responses. J Neurosci., 35(6), 2612-2623. doi:10.1523/jneurosci.3333-14.2015

Kadipasaoglu CM, Baboyan VG, Conner CR, Chen G, Saad ZS, Tandon N. Surface-based mixed effects multilevel analysis of grouped human electrocorticography. Neuroimage. 2014 101:215-24. doi: 10.1016/j.neuroimage.2014.07.006.

Turner, H , Galko, MJ. "Macrophages gain a partner at the table: epidermal cells digest peripheral dendritic debris in Drosophila".  Neuron 2014 Feb 5;81(3):465-7. doi: 10.1016/j.Neuron.2014.01.029.

Bakhru P, Sirisaengtaksin N, Soudani E, Mukherjee S, Khan A, Jagannath C. BCG vaccine mediated reduction in the MHC-II expression of macrophages and dendritic cells is reversed by activation of Toll-like receptors 7 and 9. Cellular Immunology. 2014 Jan; 287(1): 53-61. PMID: 24384074.

Sirisaengtaksin N, Gireud M, Yan Q, Kubota Y, Meza D, Waymire JC, Zage PE, Bean AJ. UBE4B couples ubiquitination and sorting machineries to enable EGFR degradation. Journal of Biological Chemistry. 2014 Jan 31; 289(5):3026-39. PMID:24344129.

Mehra A, Zahra A, Thompson V, Sirisaengtaksin N, Wells A, et al. (2013) Mycobacterium tuberculosis Type VII Secreted Effector EsxH Targets Host ESCRT to Impair Trafficking. PLoS Pathog 9(10): e1003734. doi:10.1371/journal.ppat.1003734

Ferrati S, McConnell KI, Mack AC, Sirisaengtaksin N, Diaz R, Bean AJ, Ferrari M, Serda RE Cellular communication via nanoparticle-transporting biovesicles. . Nanomedicine (Lond). 2013 Jun 3.

Hoffman L, Farley MM, Waxham MN. Calcium-calmodulin-dependent protein kinase II isoforms differentially impact the dynamics and structure of the actin cytoskeleton. Biochemistry. 2013;52(7):1198-207 .

Zage, PE, Sirisaengtaksin N, Liu Y, Gireud M, Brown BS, Palla S., Richards KN, Hughes DPM, and Bean AJ, UBE4B levels are correlated with clinical outcomes in neuroblastoma patients and with altered neuroblastoma cell proliferation and sensitivity to epidermal growth factor receptor inhibitors. Cancer. 2013 119:915-23.PMID:22990745